7 Real Madrid players who won the Ballon d’Or: Can Benzema become the 8th?

The Frenchman would become the seventh Real Madrid player to win the prized trophy given out by the magazine "France Football" if he were to win it.

There are rumors everywhere, and we all want to see our favorite player win the biggest individual prize conceivable because it will be the culmination of their hard work for the whole year.

The Ballon d’Or 2022 is rapidly approaching, and the contenders are already eager to take home the honor given each year by “France Football.”


As in previous years, the gala will take place on October 17 at Paris’ Théâtre Châtelet. 

Since Kaka won the prestigious award in 2007, Leo Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have split every prize with the exception of the ones won by Luka Modric in 2018 and by France Football in 2020, who felt that the conditions under which the winner was determined were unfair owing to the epidemic.


On Friday, August 12, the nominations will be made public.

All bets are on Karim Benzema to become the next holder of the illustrious trophy, despite the fact that the full list of contenders is yet unknown.


With 44 goals and 15 assists, the Frenchman was instrumental in Real Madrid’s 2021–22 campaign, which saw them win LaLiga Santander, the Spanish Super Cup, and the Champions League. 

An exceptional chance

The Real Madrid striker has the best chance of being named the world’s finest footballer since one of the innovations of this year’s Ballon d’Or is that journalists will vote based on the player’s previous season’s performance rather than what he displayed throughout the calendar year (as has been the case since the first edition).


Karim Benzema outperformed rivals like Cristiano Ronaldo (24 goals and 3 assists), Leo Messi (11 goals and 15 assists), Robert Lewandowski (50 goals and 7 assists), and Luka Modric in the 2021–22 season in terms of goals and assists (3 goals and 12 assists). 

If Benzema were to win the Ballon d’Or, he would be Real Madrid’s eighth player to do so and the club’s 12th winner overall. 

The list is shown below

1. Alfredo Di Stefano

2. Raymond Kopa

3. Luis Figo

4. Ronaldo Nazario

5. Fabio Cannavaro

6. Cristiano Ronaldo

7. Luka Modric


Từ khóa
Back to top button